Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand


Clubs and Events

Press Releases
Other Documents

NZ Fan Awards 1989-2001
Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fan Database
Useful Links
Interesting Lists



This is the long list all the nominated works for the Sir Julius Vogel Award 2014.


Best Novel:

Heartwood by Freya Robertson

Journey of Shadows by Sam J. Charlton

A Cold Day in Hell by Sharon Hannaford

Night's Favour by Richard Parry

Crystal Venom by Steve Wheeler

The Wind City by Summer Wigmore

Reunion by Jennifer Fallon

Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh

Harbinger by Philippa Ballantine

Fellowship of the Ringtails by Angela Oliver

The Fortress of Faltryn by Derin Atwood

The Factory World by Joseph Edward Ryan

The Mannequin Makers by Craig Cliff

Tankbread 2 by Paul Mannering

Restitutions of the Blood by Lila Richards

Kindred and Wings by Philippa Ballantine

Jaseth of Jaelshead Book 1: Bloodkin by Cathy Ashford

Healer's Touch by Deb E. Howell

Best Youth Novel:

Talisman of Vim by Robert Wainwright

Pratibhashali (The Talented) by Sanjay Joshi

Raven Flight by Juliet Marillier

Fountain of Forever by K. D. Berry

When We Wake by Karen Healey

A Necklace of Souls by R.L. Stedman

Cattra's Legacy by Anna Mackenzie

Blue by Brandy Wehinger

Mortal Fire by Elizabeth Knox

Felix and the Red Rats by James Norcliffe

Best Novella:

Cave Fever by Lee Murray
Wings, Fangs and Shadows by Cindy Hargreaves
In a world full of birds by I. K. Paterson-Harkness
This Other World by Anna Caro
At the Bay of Cthulu by Matt and Debbie Cowens

Best Short Story:

Waking The Taniwha” by Dan Rabarts

“Ahi Kaby Eileen Mueller and Alicia Ponder

All that Glitters” by Dan Rabarts

Love Hurts” by Jan Goldie

By Bone-Light” by Juliet Marillier

Lockdown” by Piper Mejia

The Crooked Mile” by Dan Rabarts

Mother's Milk” by Dan Rabarts

Where the River Shines” by Dan Rabarts

Silver Sharp As Silk” by Dan Rabarts

Remnants” by Dan Rabarts

Come is the Wolf in her Wounding” Dan Rabarts

The Spectre Spectrum” by Debbie Cowens

The Skulkybunking Wurld Champyon of the Hole Woorld” by Paul Mannering

Burying Baby” by Paul Mannering

Prickle Moon” by Juliet Marillier

Poppy Seeds” by Juliet Marillier

Windows” by M. Darusha Wehm

The Origami Tree” by A.J. Fitzwater

Blood, Stone, Water” by A.J. Fitzwater

Second Skin” by A.J. Fitzwater

The Mary-Jane Effect” by A.J. Fitzwater

The Character of 82 James Street” by Anna Caro

Splintering” by Anna Caro

The Birthday Party” by Sally McLennan

Last Harvest” by Matt Cowens

Friends” by Alicia Ponder

Doorway” by Rebecca Harris

Best Collected Work:

Beyond This Age by Lee Murray/Piper Mejia
Baby Teeth by Dan Rabarts/Lee Murray
Twisty Christmas Tales by Eileen Mueller/Alicia Ponder/Peter Friend
Regeneration: New Zealand Speculative Fiction 2 by Anna Caro & Juliet Buchanan
Prickle Moon by Juliet Marillier
Ministry Protocol – Thrilling Tales of the Ministry of Peculiar Occurances
by Philippa Ballantine & Tee Morris

Best Professional Artwork:

Cover of Beyond This Age by Samara Kirkham
Cover of Regeneration: New Zealand Speculative Fiction 2 by Emma Weakley

Best Professional Production/Publication:

The Hobbit: Unexpected Journey, Chronicles: Creatures and Characters by Daniel Falconer
WearableArt by Craig Potton Publishing
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Chronicles: Art and Design by Daniel Falconer

Best Dramatic Presentation:

The Almighty Johnsons (Season 3) by South Pacific Productions
Eternity by Eternity Productions

Best Fan Production/Publication:

Novazine by Jacqui Smith
Filking concert at Au Contraire 2013 by Murderous Little Toys
Angels in the Fog by Russ Kale.
Phoenixine by John & Lynelle Howell

Best Fan Artwork:

“Gorgth Goes Shopping” by Matt Cowens

Best Fan Writing:

Alan Parker “Presidential Address” Novazine
Steve Litten “ Broderick Wells” Novazine
Alan Robson and Jane Lindskold "Thursday Tangents"
Lynelle Howell “ Presidental Sweet” / “DuhVice” Phoenixine
Sam J. Charlton "The Witch of Angmar"
Jacqui Smith
Contributions in Novazine

Best New Talent:

Sharon Hanneford
Dan Rabarts
Robert Wainwright
Angela Oliver
R. L. Stedman
Richard Parry

Deb E. Howell

Services To Fandom:

The League of Victorian Imagineers

Services to Scence Fiction, Fantasy and Horror:

Helen Lowe
Harper Collins NZ


SFFANZ is a non-profit organisation and registered charity
designed to bring together fans of the fantastic in New Zealand

Contact us by email at: